East Brunswick Car Accident Attorney
Supportive & Compassionate Legal Service for Auto Accident Victims
New Jersey has a staggering number of serious car accidents. As reported by the New Jersey Department of Transportation, there were a total of 278,413 collisions in a recent year, with 28,965 in Middlesex County alone, 3,974 causing injuries, and 28 deaths. The consequences of an injury accident can be significant, leaving an innocent person disfigured, disabled, or facing many personal and physical challenges. The responsible party must be held accountable.
What To Do After a Car Accident
The first priority after getting into an accident should be to ensure that all parties involved are okay. Once that is settled, do the following:
- Take photos of the scene, including injuries and damage done to the crashed vehicles
- Fill out a police report, if necessary
- Exchange contact and insurance information with the other drivers involved
- Gather eyewitness statements, if it is an option
- Get in touch with your insurance provider to let them know that you have been in a recent crash
- Seek the professional legal help of a car accident attorney
Why You Need an Attorney
If you or a loved one has suffered injuries in a car accident, you need an attorney to assist you through the process of pursuing full and fair compensation. Our lawyer provides experienced legal counsel in car accident cases in East Brunswick. When we take on a car accident case, our goal is to recover the maximum compensation possible. We devote all the resources of our firm to every case.
Injury Accidents in East Brunswick
The types of injuries sustained in a car accident can range from minor to catastrophic to fatal.
The most common types of injuries suffered in a car crash include:
- Traumatic brain injuries (TBI)
- Spinal cord injuries
- Broken bones
- Head injuries
- Neck injuries
- Disfiguring injuries
- Internal injuries (bleeding, organ damage)
- Knee trauma
- Whiplash (muscle and tendon injuries)
- Broken ribs
Your options for pursuing compensation after a car accident will largely depend on what type of insurance coverage is available in your case. New Jersey car accident laws can be confusing to navigate on your own. An attorney from our firm can help you understand how these laws apply to your situation and guide you towards the most appropriate course of action.
New Jersey Is a No-Fault State
New Jersey is one of about a dozen states that follows a no-fault car insurance system. This means that after an accident, you must first pursue compensation under your own personal injury protection (PIP) coverage regardless of who caused the crash.
Basic required car insurance coverage in New Jersey is as follows:
- $5,000 in Property Damage Liability coverage
- $15,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage, per person, per accident
PIP coverage provides compensation for the medical bills and other out-of-pocket losses of anyone covered under the policy up to coverage limits, no matter who was responsible for the collision. The tradeoff of this type of system is that injured parties are not compensated for non-economic damages such as pain and suffering. Non-economic damages may only be recovered by filing a personal lawsuit against the responsible party, though this is only allowed under certain circumstances.
Injured persons in New Jersey with only a “Basic” car insurance policy may only pursue legal action against an at-fault driver outside of the PIP system if the accident caused the injured person to suffer:
- The loss of a body part
- Significant or permanent scarring or disfigurement
- A displaced fracture
- The loss of a fetus
- Permanent injury
- Death (in which case the family may pursue a wrongful death claim)
Contact us today for your free consultation.
Drivers have the option of purchasing a “standard policy” which includes bodily injury liability coverage on top of this, though this is not required in the state of New Jersey. Those who choose a standard policy can choose between “limited right to sue” and “unlimited right to sue” options.
Under the “limited right to sue” option, you may only step outside the no-fault system and pursue a claim for pain and suffering directly against the at-fault driver if your injuries meet the above criteria, whereas those with an “unlimited right to sue” policy are not bound by this limitation.
It is important to note that these no-fault rules only apply to injuries caused by car accidents. Vehicle damage claims may be pursued against an at-fault driver in New Jersey without limitations.
Accident Reporting Laws in New Jersey
New Jersey law requires you to report any motor vehicle accident that causes injury, death, or more than $500 worth of property damage. The best way to report an accident is to immediately call 911 or your local police department.
Additionally, you (or the owner of the vehicle, if it is someone other than you) will need to file a written report within 10 days of your collision. You are not required to file a report if a police officer does this for you. Knowingly failing to report an accident can result in a $100 fine and a suspension of your driving privileges.
Time Limits for Car Accident Lawsuits in New Jersey
Car accident lawsuits in New Jersey are subject to a filing deadline known as a "statute of limitations." This time limit essentially places a hard deadline on how long an injured person has to pursue legal action.
In New Jersey, you typically only have two years from the date of your accident to file a lawsuit against the responsible party.
If you attempt to file a lawsuit after the statute of limitations period has expired, your case will likely be dismissed and you will be unable to recover any compensation for your losses.
For this reason, even if you expect your case to be resolved through a pending insurance claim, it is crucial you get an attorney involved as early as possible after your collision to give yourself enough time to prepare for a potential lawsuit.
Our firm represents the injured in a range of car accident cases, including but not limited to:
- Side impact collisions (T-bone)
- Drunk driving accidents
- Head-on collisions
- Rear-end collisions
- Hit-and-run accidents
- Multi-vehicle accidents
- Uber and Lyft accidents
Why Choose Us?
At Law Office of Howard S. Teitelbaum, we have been successfully representing clients since 1978. Led by founding attorney Howard S. Teitelbaum, we have vast experience in negotiating a fair settlement and at trial to achieve justice for the people we serve. Our firm was established to provide personal service, and we limit our caseload to ensure we have all the time needed to devote to every case.
Call (732) 338-0785 today for a free initial consultation with our East Brunswick car accident attorney.
Car Accident $200,000